To Fig or not to Fig?

Figs are not fruits that I have sampled much over the years and they are not usually on my shopping list…however in a bid to keep my sugar intake healthy but also consume more fibre, I discovered that figs may well hit the mark…

fig-main

A 100g serving of fresh figs provides approximately:80 calories,1.3g protein, 0.3g fat, 20.3g carbohydrate, 2.2g fibre.

A great recipe I tried recently was simple enough for a healthy, quick evening dessert. Take two figs and cut across the top in an ‘x’ and pull apart the ends like a flower, drop a little coconut oil in the centre, and a drop of honey, then sprinkle with cinnamon powder. Grill for 5mins, and serve warm with chopped pistachios and some plain greek yoghurt.

image1 The result is a sticky sweet, toffee-like dessert – yum! One of my favourites and a great Summer to Autumn dessert we can enjoy whilst still looking after the wasitline. Watch out though – Figs are known to be good for digestive wellness but if eaten in excess can act as a natural laxative! Let me know if you give them a go?image2

Leave a comment